Animal Crossing Nintendo Direct This Week, No Switch Info


Nintendo has announced an Animal Crossing-themed Nintendo Direct coming on Wednesday, October 25 (or late on October 24 in the US) – but it will focus exclusively on the upcoming smartphone game, and will not feature 3DS or Switch announcements.

Announced on its Japanese Twitter account , Nintendo says the broadcast will take place at midday in Japan – that makes it October 24 at 8pm Pacific / 11pm Eastern, or October 25 at 4am UK / 2pm AEST.

Nintendo UK has announced a second version for the region, at a slightly more friendly time of 7am on the 25th.

This will be the first time we’ll see what form Animal Crossing will take as a smartphone game. So far, all we know is that the app will be “free-to-start” (essentially, there will be microtransactions), and that it will be a “pure game app”, as opposed to Miitomo’s skewed social network approach. It will also “be connected with the world of Animal Crossing for dedicated gaming systems”, (which just makes us a little sadder that we won’t be hearing anything more about new console versions).

The game was delayed early this year so as not to overlap with the release of Super Mario Run.

Joe Skrebels is IGN’s UK News Editor, and he probably wouldn’t be able to help himself paying for an Axel he could carry around in his pocket. Here’s why.


Loading...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *